August 19, 2020 / Press Releases

“From Women’s Suffrage to the Women’s March”

Democrats mark 100 years anniversary of the 19th Amendment in new convention video 

MILWAUKEE—As America marks 100 years this week since women won the right to vote, a new video released at the 2020 Democratic National Convention celebrates all of the women who have been leading for the past century —on the same night Democrats prepares to nominate the first woman of color to be Vice President of the United States.

The new video weaves together footage of women marching throughout American history with the voices of the bold leaders who are writing its next chapter. All across the nation, women are breaking the rules, building coalitions, and rising up in service of a movement now a centennial in the making. Even in the face of Donald Trump’s everyday attacks on women—nevertheless, they persist.

Featured in the video:


  • Rep. Karen Bass (CA-37)

  • Rep. Cheri Bustos (IL-17)

  • Rep. Kathy Castor (FL-14)

  • Rep. Sharice Davids (KS-3)

  • Rep. Rosa DeLauro (CT-3)

  • Rep. Val Demings (FL-10)

  • Rep. Veronica Escobar (TX-16)

  • Rep. Lois Frankel (FL-21)

  • Rep. Marcia Fudge (OH-11)

  • Rep. Deb Haaland (NM-1)

  • Rep. Chrissy Houlahan (PA-6)

  • Rep. Pramila Jayapal (WA-7)

  • Rep. Brenda Lawrence (MI-14)

  • Rep. Elaine Luria (VA-2)

  • Rep. Lucy McBath

  • Rep. Grace Meng

  • Rep. Debbie Mucarsel-Powell (FL-26)

  • Rep. Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (NY-14)

  • Rep. Nancy Pelosi (CA-12)

  • Rep. Lisa Blunt Rochester (DE-AL)

  • Rep. Terri Sewell (AL-7)

  • Rep. Mikie Sherrill (NJ-11)

  • Rep. Elissa Slotkin (MI-8)

  • Rep. Abigail Spanberger (VA-7)

  • Rep. Jackie Speier (CA-14)

  • Rep. Lauren Underwood (IL-14)

  • Rep. Debbie Wasserman-Schultz (FL-23)

  • Rep. Maxine Waters (CA-43)

  • Rep. Jennifer Wexton (VA-10)


  • Sen. Catherine Cortez Masto (NV)

  • Sen. Tammy Duckworth (IL)

  • Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand (NY)

  • Sen. Kamala Harris (CA)

  • Sen. Patty Murray (WA)

  • Sen. Debbie Stabenow (MI)

  • Sen. Elizabeth Warren (MA)


  • Gov. Michelle Lujan-Grisham (NM)

  • Gov. Gretchen Whitmer (MI)


  • Laila Ali

  • America Ferrera

  • Sybrina Fulton

  • Alicia Garza

  • Ilyse Hogue

  • Alexis McGill Johnson

  • Kandi Mossett

  • Ai-Jen Poo

  • Megan Rapinoe

  • Cecile Richards

  • Stephanie Schriock

  • Gloria Steinem


  • Stacey Abrams

  • Ruth Bader Ginsburg

  • Jill Biden

  • Joe Biden

  • Shirley Chisholm, Former Congresswoman

  • Hillary Clinton

  • Lori Lightfoot, Chicago Mayor

  • Susana Mendoza: IL Comptroller

  • Carol Moseley Braun: Former Senator

  • Michelle Obama

  • Gina Ortiz Jones

  • Danica Roem, VA Delegate